Sunday, January 2, 2011

Sri Laghu / Brhad Bhagatamrtam

Bhagavatamrtam By Goswami Brothers

Sri Laghu Bhagatamrtam By Rupa Goswami
This book is a summary and description of the Avataras of the Lord. It will describe two types of nectar - the nectar of Lord Sri Krsna, and the nectar of His devotees.
Sri Brhad Bhagatamrtam By Sanathana Goswami
In Brihad-Bhagavatamritam, Sanatana Goswami records the conversation that took place between Pariksit Maharaja and his mother Uttara after he had heard the Bhagavata from Shukadeva. She asks him to explain the gist of the Bhagavatam, and Pariksit Maharaja begins by telling the story of Narada's search for the most fortunate and intimate devotee of Krishna. This part of the conversation reveals the gradation of intimacy in devotional service. Progressing from those devotees whose bhakti is mixed with karma (Brahma) and jnana (Shiva), Narada progresses to shanta-rasa (Prahlada) dasya-rasa (Hanuman) sakhya-rasa (Arjuna) and finally to Krishna's dearmost devotee Uddhava, who aspires for a position in Vrindavana and who reveals the love of the gopis for Krishna as the last word in bhakti.

Part Two of Brihad-Bhagavtamrita reveals the story of gopa-kumara, an errant cowherd boy who, having received mantra initiation from a resident of Vrindavana, passes through one planetary system after the next, exploring different levels of consciousness in a spritual odyssey that takes him from earth, through the heavenly planets to Brahmaloka, Viraja, the brahmajyoti, Shivaloka, Vaikuntha, Ayodhya, Dwarka, Mathura, and finally Goloka, where he realizes his eternal position in the pastimes of Krishna in sakhya rasa.

In Brihad-Bhagavatamritam there are descriptions of devotees, intimate devotees, most intimate devotees and complete devotees. About this book, Sri A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada writes (CC Adi 5.203), "Sri Santana Gosvami Prabhu, the teacher of the science of devotional service, wrote several books, of which the Brihad-Bhagavatamrita is very famous; anyone who wants to know about the subject matter of devotees, devotional service and Krishna must read this book."
According to Srila Bhaktivedanta Swami, "The second part describes the glories of the spiritual world, known as Goloka-mahatmya-nirupana, as well as the process of renunciation of the material world. It also describes real knowledge, devotional service, the spiritual world, love of Godhead, attainment of life's destination and the bliss of the spiritual world. In this way there are seven chapters in each part, fourteen chapters in all."

No comments:

Post a Comment